Barcelona captain Lionel Messi has received his first red card in his football career.
Messi received a red card for the first time in his career in last night’s Spanish Super Cup final against Athletic Club.
Messi was given a straight red card in the 121st minute of extra time after the scheduled 90-minute match ended in a 2-2 draw.
Initially, match referee, Jesus Gill did not see Messi’s fruit directly, but the VR team asked him to look at the fruit again.
In the replay, which was watched with the help of VAR, the red card was given straight to the red card after it was seen that Messi had deliberately hit Athletic’s Villalibre.
According to the Spanish newspaper Marca, Messi, who received a straight red card for his misconduct during the game, is likely to be banned for two games.
According to Marca, if a player receives a red card in the Super Cup final, he or she will be subject to action under Article 56.8 in domestic football. Agency